Originally Posted by Jackass18
Holmes had a TD taken away in the playoffs because of this.
NFL Rules re completed catch:
Article 3 Completed or Intercepted Pass. A player who makes a catch may advance the ball. A forward pass is complete (by
the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:
(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act
common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an
Not saying Holmes wasn't denied a TD in a playoff game (though some details would be helpful) but, if that did in fact happen, the call was incorrect.
By definition, getting both feet on the ground in the field of play, maintaining possession of the ball and advancing it to a point where it breaks the plane is a TD. Whether the player retains possession when he hits the ground is irrelevant.
ETA: It happened last week in the SD/Denver game. Alexander caught the ball in the field of play
, got both feet down, and made a football move: reaching the ball to the goal line. TD. No different than a RB reaching the ball out on a dive, knowing it doesn't matter if it comes loose after he breaks the plane.
The rules for a ball caught in the endzone
are different in that you must display control all the way to the ground unless you've made a "football move" (ie ran with the ball).