Default Are modern day, millennial NBA Stars mentally-weak front-runners?

I've been trying to wrap my head ahead around why we've see so many blowouts, and such a discrepancy in home-away performances. One common factor I've seen in most of these games is that the Star players aren't showing up when their teams need them most. When you're on the road, and losing by double-digits, it's not your role-players that are supposed to pull you out, it's your Star players that need to perform. Throughout these playoffs, what I've seen is Star players consistently NOT show up when their team needs them most. I'm not talking about having a bad game. I'm talking about the Star players on their teams mentally checking out when their team is down big, or on the road.

I've been coaching HS basketball for around 6 years now, and one thing I've noticed about modern athletes is they tend to focus on way too many things outside of the game. Many of my players play scared. One of my main goals in coaching has been to teach my players to HATE losing, but never to FEAR losing. Now obviously HS athletes aren't Professional athletes... but I feel like the modern NBA Star FEARS losing more than they HATE losing. Too many NBA Stars are worried about what the media is going to say after the game. Too many NBA Stars are worried about what the stat sheet is going look like after the game. Maybe I'm reaching, but when I'm watching these blowout games, and poor road performances by NBA Stars, I'm not seeing a guy having a bad night... I'm seeing a guy who is giving up when the odds are against them.