Decent playground baller L3B120N J4M35's Avatar

Default I Am Nervous during basketball games?

Every single game, I get nervous. Can you overcome this? I play nervous which gets me playing bad.

Banned

Default Re: I Am Nervous during basketball games?

Used to be a major problem for me when i started playing competitively but i think it is for most people when they start because of how intimidating defences can be.. Anyway it can be overcome, you just have to come to trust your own game and accept the fact that you are going to A. Miss some shots, B. Turn the ball over from time to time, and C. Make general little f*ck ups. Once you accept that then you'll start worrying less about failure.

Also if you are finding yourself nervous in game because of your performance then start looking at how you can impact the game with other things like intensity on defence, rebounding, loose balls etc. and gain confidence through them.

What you will probably find though is that it will come with time and experience and you will be able to stay composed in most situations. I still can get thrown off my game if i get blocked or have a rough patch of play but there was once a time where i would've dragged myself from the court whereas now i try to work through it and "trust my game". The most experienced players and elite players are able to stare the best defences/adverse situations in the face and just work their way through them with no fear of failure and that's what makes them elite.

In summary, give it time, do the little things, trust your game and convince yourself that your game is good enough to compete with whatever is thrown at you

Decent playground baller L3B120N J4M35's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by AJ2k8