Originally Posted by pauk
In normal basketball rules yes, with some exceptions (has to hit the rim, counts as fgm/fga & offensive rebound).
In the NBA its legal, under the traveling rule a player who attempts a shot or pass may not be the first to touch the ball unless it touches the backboard, rim or another player. Therefore, a player can intentionally pass the ball to himself off the backboard or rim. (it doesnt give you a rebound/assist or missed fga)
I quoted the NBA's website. You quote some who-knows-what ? No thanks.
Also, the rim is not the backboard as the NBA rule clearly states.
Hey it was an awesome idea, very creative. It's not my fault the refs don't know their own rulebook.