Originally Posted by La Frescobaldi
This is actually a travel.
In normal basketball rules yes, with some exceptions (has to hit the rim, counts as fgm/fga & offensive rebound).
In the NBA its legal, under the traveling rule a player who attempts a shot or pass may not be the first to touch the ball unless it touches the backboard, rim or another player. Therefore, a player can intentionally pass the ball to himself off the backboard or rim. (it doesnt give you a rebound/assist or missed fga if its of the backboard, not sure about the rim though)....